gGadget > Nikon® D3100 vs Canon T2i: DLSR Review and Camera Price

Nikon® D3100 vs Canon T2i: DLSR Review and Camera Price

Nikon® D3100 vs Canon T2i: DLSR Review and Camera Price, 6.8 out of 10 based on 11 ratings
VN:F [1.9.15_1155]
Rating: 6.8/10 (11 votes cast)
Nikon D3100 Lowest Price of $596.95
Canon T2i Lowest Price of $599

The Canon T2i vs Nikon D3100 debate is on! These two affordable camera options are ideal DLSRs to start off your hobby or career as a photographer. Each camera has its own unique perks and shortcomings. It’s important to make an informed decision before you make your camera purchase. So, here’s some important information about the differences between the Nikon D3100 and Canon T2i to help you out:

The Nikon D3100 camera is 15 grams lighter than its Canon competitor, even though it’s a larger and thicker camera. The D3100 tends to do better in low light conditions than the T2i does, and it has better color depth in all lighting conditions, offering 22.5 bits of color depth as opposed to the 22.1 bits that the T2i offers. The Nikon D3100 battery tends to last longer between charges than the Canon T2i battery does. Additionally, the D3100 boasts video autofocus and continuous video focus, which makes it a superior camera for shooting high quality, HD videos.

The Canon T2i body is a little smaller and thinner than the Nikon D3100 body. So, many photographers prefer the feel of the Canon T2i camera. The T2i has a considerably higher screen resolution: 1,040k dots vs the D3100’s 230k dots. And the T2i boasts 17.9 megapixels of true resolution, while the D3100 only offers 14.2 megapixels of true resolution. Additionally, the T2i has a bigger viewfinder and less shutter lag. Plus, it generally functions faster in terms of shooting.

Users generally prefer the T2i for taking photos and the D3100 for recording videos. However, both DLSRs function well enough for both tasks. The good news is that you won’t be dissatisfied with either one of these cameras.

More Info About Nikon D3100 SpecsMore Info About Canon T2i Specs

26,

Jan at 12:49 PM

23 Responses to Nikon® D3100 vs Canon T2i: DLSR Review and Camera Price

Jason England February 1, 2012 at 12:13 pm

I guess the lower megapixels on the Nikon make it better with low light but the T2i is no slouch either. I’d pick the T2i because I already have Canon lenses.

Brian H February 2, 2012 at 8:22 pm

Love the zoom

Edmund Mendez February 2, 2012 at 10:55 pm

Time to upgrade, maybe when I win the lotto I can buy one.

addrienne mertens February 3, 2012 at 4:36 pm

i will have either one!

petritia selvi February 4, 2012 at 5:15 pm

i have this one and the clarity is very good ,love the sports mode feature

Edmund Mendez February 4, 2012 at 10:28 pm

I’m not picky, I will take two of each

Tina February 6, 2012 at 9:27 am

I think I’d prefer the higher screen res on the T2i. Old eyes, ya know…

Lorraine February 19, 2012 at 12:29 pm

Nikon Camera’s are the best, I have a less expensive and wouldn’t have anything else.

bethanny February 20, 2012 at 9:41 am

Love this camera and love the zoom. Very nice camera choice!

saminder gumer February 20, 2012 at 7:11 pm

this is a great price for a great camera. too bad i don’t need a dslr right now. i also like that it is lighter than the canon.

Brett

Brett February 22, 2012 at 9:03 am

Thanks for your comment. Zoom is a very important feature on a camera. I’m happy to hear that you like the camera selection.

Brett

Brett February 22, 2012 at 9:04 am

Lighter cameras do make a big difference when you’re taking pictures all day. A heavy camera can really weigh you down after a while. Thanks for commenting!

Brett

Brett February 22, 2012 at 9:06 am

Nikon really does make excellent cameras. And their lenses are nothing to laugh at either. Thanks for your comment.

Brett

Brett February 22, 2012 at 9:09 am

A higher screen resolution is important. That’s definitely something that stands out about the T2i in comparison to the D3100. Thanks for reading the post and for your comment!

Jennifer February 22, 2012 at 11:55 am

with the attachments, which camera do to you has better quality?

Gary McDaniel February 24, 2012 at 1:04 am

Thanks for the review. They both sound great, but I think maybe the Nikon would be the better choice for me.

Adriana Grillo February 26, 2012 at 9:45 pm

I would take the D3100 – love taking videos

Raj February 27, 2012 at 9:54 am

Thanks for the review and nice comparison.

Brett

Brett February 27, 2012 at 9:58 am

Thanks for reading! I’m glad you enjoyed the post.

Brett

Brett February 27, 2012 at 10:02 am

Thanks for commenting! The D3100 really is the better camera for taking videos. Video autofocus and continuous video focus make all the difference.

Pawan Shakya March 19, 2012 at 11:38 pm

My Bud own an T2i and I own D3100.. I think the menu of D3100 is just too great.. I’ve had many years of experience using a SLR so relatively I take much better pictures than he does.. but umm, I think Nikon is better with Yellow Tint while Canon gives White Tint.. 😀

Jeff May 18, 2012 at 2:22 am

I own D3100. and as for me, i love use this camera. As a beginner, my ordinary photo become extraordinary.

John Fredy June 5, 2012 at 11:15 pm

Superb image quality in both photos and video. image quality is pretty good. I have made some test shots and despite going up to an 18 MP sensor the noise is not much of an issue and I shot several pics at ISO 3200 which look quite good. I then shot some in 6400 which did start to show some noise in the low light but still made for serviceable pictures.

I have been using the video mode a lot more than I initially expected. While it doesn’t offer continuous auto-focus and therefore might not replace a camcorder, once you get the hang of manually focusing this is not a big problem. I many times have found myself in situations where photos couldn’t capture the moment as well as a video could, and the ability to record clips has been very convenient.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *